Home Video Gallery Contact Us Advertise Here
IslandStats.com RSS Feed

Cycling Home
Current Scores
Historical Scores
Photo Gallery
Related Links
Contact Us
IslandStats.com RSS Feed


Thursday, April 30, 2020
Bermuda Bicycle Association’s Awards Announced

Kaden Hopkins Male Rider of the Year
The BBA's annual awards were to have been announced and presented at the end of March but with the cancellation of the event the award recipients were announced.

Most Improved Junior – Alexander Miller
Miler improvement has been recognized locally and he has put his stamp on international racing.  His success at the Junior Caribbean Cycling Championships (gold and silver medals in time trial and road race, respectively) capped a year of great improvement and we will expect even more from Miller in 2020.
Most Improved Adult – Maddie Durkin
Durkin capped a year of significant growth with her performance in the Presidents Cup where she was the top female and 16th overall.  The progress she made on the bike was more then just adding strength but in her race tactics.
Junior Rider of the Year – Nicholas Narraway
 Narraway’s dedication to his training and racing at the highest possible level continued in 2019.  He was selected to be a part of a combined team for the Junior Tour of Ireland where his team manager was effusive in his praise for Narraway’s enthusiasm and positive attitude in a tough event.  Narraway won two medals in the Junior Caribbean Cycling Championships and demonstrated that in 2020 he will be the man to beat.
Male Rider of the Year – Kaden Hopkins
 2019 finished for Hopkins on the highest of notes, taking the gold medal at the Elite Caribbean Cycling Championships time trial event in Havana, Cuba.  What made this extra impressive was that he did this in his first year in the elite event, besting many athletes far more experienced.  Locally he won the national championship title in the time trial and the Sinclair Packwood Memorial Race.
Female Rider of the Year – Caitlin Conyers
 2019 was another stellar one for Conyers as she tested herself against ever higher levels of international competition.  From early experiences at Pan American Championships and the Vuelta Femenina Guatemala she took the lessons of those events to sterling performances in Lima, Peru at the Pan Am Games.  Conyers was 7th in the time trial and 10th in the road race.  The end of her 2019 campaign was the gold medal in Havana in the Elite Caribbean Cycling Championships time trial.  
Race Organizer of the Year – Fat Tire Massive
The FTM team has continued to lead MTB racing events with enthusiasm and creativity.  They have developed new trails and broadened the racing fields, continuing to adapt and adjust to keep the off-road racing scene competitive and fun.
Lifetime Race Official Award – Nigel Godfrey
Godfrey has contributed to our sport in many ways over the years, including helping develop the officials education material and acting as a race official.  His calm demeanor and clear thinking have enhanced the experiences of our riders for many years.  This award is a small reflection of the gratitude the local racing community has for his years of service to events and riders.
Club Person of the Year – Bermuda Rouleurs Cycling Club
We were thrilled that the BRCC established the youth racing series for 2019, a wonderful entrance to the sport of cycle racing
Last 75 Headlines

IslandStats.com - Bermuda's Online Sports Source
© Copyright IslandStats.com