Home Video Gallery Contact Us Advertise Here
IslandStats.com RSS Feed

Cycling Home
Current Scores
Historical Scores
Photo Gallery
Related Links
Contact Us
IslandStats.com RSS Feed


Monday, February 20, 2023
BBA Announce 2022 Award Winners

Conyers & Hopkins
The Bermuda Bicycle Association (BBA) presented Cycling’s 2022 Awards at the Annual Awards Ceremony held at the Boundary Restaurant, Southampton.

BBA President, Peter Dunne announced, Kaden Hopkins and Caitlin Conyers as Male and Female Riders of the Year respectively and was clearly excited to add that the international performances of Bermuda riders were clearly getting the attention of not only Bermuda but the world of cycling.

Using Hopkins' performances in the Commonwealth Games in Manchester, England, where Bermuda had an unprecedented team effort with all three riders finishing the road race, and his time trial result in the World Championships in Australia as examples, was quick to add that the award winners were clearly not alone with Conor White, Nicholas Narraway, Liam Flannery, and Alexander Miller all racing overseas, with local junior riders looking to follow in their footsteps.

Looking to follow in the footsteps of Conyers, who had been training and racing in Spain this year, Charlotte Millington was announced as Junior Rider of the Year after some impressive performances pitted against the island's Senior Women last year.

Cameron Morris was voted Most Improved Junior after a strong year in both Road and Mountain Bike events. Matthew Ringer was a deserved and popular winner of the Most Improved Adult Rider Award.

Dunne went on to explain that riders' performances are only possible with the dedicated work of others in the sport and recognized some of those with the Club Person of the Year Award presented to Dominique Mayho for his work helping develop the sport that he himself has had so much success highlighting Mayho’s management of the Commonwealth Games team, amongst others.

Race Organizer of the Year was presented to Jennifer Lightbourne. Race Official of the Year went to Charlie Thresh.

Whilst not a BBA award, Deborah Narraway representing the Bermuda Cancer Association announced the winner of the MOvember Bermuda Sportsmanship award which is given to the sports team or club who raises the most funds in the month of November supporting men’s cancer initiatives in Bermuda. This went to BRCC Cycling Team in 2022 for the community MOvember ride they organized. Making it the third year in a row they have won.
Last 75 Headlines

IslandStats.com - Bermuda's Online Sports Source
© Copyright IslandStats.com