Home Video Gallery Contact Us Advertise Here
IslandStats.com RSS Feed
Track and Field

Track and Field Home
Current Scores
Historical Scores
Photo Gallery
Related Links
Contact Us
IslandStats.com RSS Feed


Track and Field
Wednesday, March 22, 2023
BSSF Primary School Track & Field Finals

Harrington Sound Primary School were crowned overall champions at the Bermuda School Sports Federation Primary School Track and Field meet.

Harrington Sound victory was attributed to a convincing victory in the Girls Division. They finished with an impressive 131, well ahead of Warwick Academy in second with 82 points and Dalton E. Tucker Primary in third with 69 points. Saltus grabbed top honors in the Boys Division with 92 points with Warwick again finishing second with 73 points and Harrington Sound Primary finishing third on 72 points.

Gilbert Instituteís Soleil Goater won the Toby Colombe Memorial Award for the best performer of the day, she was the only athlete to win three individual events during the meet. She held off front street mile winner Naomi Macguinness from Warwick Academy to win the 800m. Goater would go on to win the 400m and the Long Jump. Harrington Sound Primary claimed the top two podium spots in the 100 and 200m Under 10 Girls races with Aalirah Daniels winning Gold in both races with schoolmate Ava St. Luce claiming both Silvers. Both featured in the Gold Medal winning Relay Team as well.

Harrington Soundís Jasmine Reid-Rubaine was the Champion Girl in the Over 10 Girls Division. Reid-Rubaine won the 200m and the Long Jump but was edged by Dalton E. Tuckerís Leydi Raynor in the 100m. Raynor would finish second in the 200m and 400m. Sukanya Jobson from Purvis Primary claimed the 400 and 800m double and finished fourth in the High Jump.

Macguinness regrouped to comfortably win the Randy Benjamin Memorial Mile in a time of 6:27, with Evelyn Fahy from Somersfield finishing second ahead of BHS runner Harper Franklin. The Boys Randy Benjamin Memorial Mile winner was Warwick Academyís Sami Luber clocking in at 6:04 with Ronan Davidge from Saltus finishing second ahead of Shiloh Stevens from Prospect Primary.

The Under 10 Boys Champion was Shanzae Smith from Dalton E. Tucker Primary who won the 400m, finished third in the 200m and third in the 800m. Victor Scottís Mazaii Tucker claimed Gold in the 100m with Prospect Primaryís Julian Simmons-Smith winning the 200m. Harrington Sound Primaryís Khaleef Daley was impressive in winning the 800m and joined his teammates in winning Harrington Soundís third relay race. Prospect Primary claimed a second win after Shiloh Stevens won the Long Jump event. The Division winners were rounded out with Hugo Adams from Somersfield Academy winning the Cricket Ball Throw.

Purvis Primaryís Jace Postlethwaite was crowned the Over 10 Boys Champions after winning the 100m ahead of Adam Barritt from Saltus Grammar School and Long Jump before being edged out in the 200m behind Paz Lightbourn-Francis from Harrington Sound. Lightbourn-Francis would finish second in the 400m behind Jericho Roberts from Northlands who finished second to Postlethwaite in the Long Jump. Mile winner Luber overtook Victor Scott Primaryís Hasim Ming in the last few meters to win the 800m. Barritt anchored Saltus to a relay win denying Harrington Sound a relay clean sweep. West Pembroke Primary stood top of the podium in the Boys High Jump after Aaron Azai Burt claimed Gold by having fewer misses over Purvis Primaryís Tanaka Kunze after both jumped 1.30m. James Cook gave Somersfield Academy their third Cricket Ball Throw Gold Medal with a toss of 43.97m.

Click Here to see the Full 2023 Bermuda School Sports Federation Primary School Track & Field Final Results

BSSF Primary School Track & Field Finals 2023

Last 75 Headlines

IslandStats.com - Bermuda's Online Sports Source
© Copyright IslandStats.com