Home Video Gallery Contact Us Advertise Here
IslandStats.com RSS Feed

Cricket Home
Current Scores
Historical Scores
Cup Match Stats
*Updated 2012*
All 2012 Stats
Cup Match Stats
For 2011
Cup Match Results
Cup Match Facts
Batting Averages
St. Gerorges Players Stats
Highest Individual
Somerset Players Stats
Highest Aggregates
Leading Bowling Avg
Colts Record
Best Bowling
Wicket Keeping
Most Catches Match & Inning
Most Catches
Most Wickets
Safe Hands
Best Partnerships
Detailed Stats
Photo Gallery
Related Links
Contact Us
IslandStats.com RSS Feed


Friday, February 20, 2015
Steede Comments on 2015 Season
Bermuda Cricket Board 1st Vice President Neon Steede, said the 2015 Cricket Season will be a big one for teams as the end will see the beginning of a 6 team Premier Division and an 8 team First Division in 2016.

At the end of this season the sixth and seventh place teams in the Premier Division will automatically be relegated, while the fifth place team will play a play-off against the second place team in the First Division. The First Division winners will automatically be promoted.

The loan player structure will remain in place, while the Board is looking to hold the Twenty20 Final at the beginning of the season.

Tuesday, February 17, 2015
Smith Coaching Western Stars

Western Stars Sports Club has secured the services of Wendell Smith as their cricket coach for the upcoming 2015 season.

Smith a former St. George’s Cricket Club Captain, he scored more than 1,000 runs in Cup Match.

Smith coach the St. David’s Cricket Club to the League title last season, before leaving he club.

Western Stars just missed out on securing a spot in the Premier Division when they went down to Cleveland County in a Play-Off match at the end of last season.

Monday, February 16, 2015
ICC Americas Tournament Dates Announced

On February 2nd Islandstats.com reported that the ICC Americas will be conducting the Pepsi ICC Americas Division 1 Championship in Indianapolis.

We can now confirm the dates of the tournament which will run from May 3rd to May 10th, 2015. USA, Canada, Bermuda and Suriname have been invited to participate in the event. Suriname gained a promotion to Division 1 after winning the Division 2 Championship held in Florida in November 2014.

Ben Kavenagh formally invited Bermuda to participate in the championship earlier this year. "The Pepsi ICC Americas Division 1 Championship will be a T20 competition and the top 2 ranked teams in this tournament will be promoted to the 2015 ICC World T20 Qualifiers (for the 2016 ICC World T20), to be held in Ireland and Scotland from July 9th to August 11th 2015."

Last year, controversy broke out regarding the change of venue for the 2014 USACA Championship from Indianapolis to Florida, USACA's Project Manager for the National Championship noted, "The costs for teams, families and fans to travel and stay in Indianapolis were just exceptionally high."

However Kavenagh has been quoted as saying, "As with all ICC Americas Development Tournaments the costs of airfares, hotel accommodation, some meals, ground transportation and other tournament related expenses are paid for by the ICC Americas Development fund."
Thursday, February 12, 2015
Smith & Richardson Win ICC Annual Development Awards

The Bermuda Cricket Board congratulated Russell Richardson and Kellie Smith on the selection by the International Cricket Council as winners of Annual Development Awards.

Smith and Richardson were nominated by the Bermuda Cricket Board for the respective awards of Women’s Cricket “Behind the Scenes” and Volunteer of the Year.

Richardson has been recognized as the Volunteer of the Year, predominantly for his role as Tournament Director for ICC Regional Under 17 event in Bermuda. Richardson spent countless hours preparing, during and post tournament, ensuring all aspects were under control in the delivery of a first class international tournament. Richardson also volunteered as the team manager, event organizer, player development officer and as a coach for the Under 18 Bermuda National team and regularly donates over 25 hours per week to assist the young cricketers.

Smith of the Bermuda Cricket Board was awarded with Women’s Cricket ‘Behind the Scenes’ award for her ongoing work to develop a grassroots cricket program designed to reignite Women’s cricket in Bermuda. Engaging over 360 girls from 15 schools to participate in school programs, with 180 participating in Junior and Middle school competitions, Smith also formed a Girls only 8 & Under team in the local competition. Smith also plans, coordinates and runs the Internationally acclaimed Bermuda Cricket Board youth camps including a girl’s only camp in 2014. Smith is a very active member of the Bermuda Cricket Board Women’s Committee and is instrumental in the Bermuda Cricket Board youth programs. Smith’s son, Jordan, is a member of the Bermuda Cricket Board National Under 18 squad. Jordan Smith won a scholarship to attend Bromsgrove School in Birmingham, England and has been a regular member of the Warwickshire County Junior program.

Lloyd Fray, President of the Bermuda Cricket Board said, “I am delighted that these 2 hard-working individuals have been rightfully provided international recognition by the ICC for their incredible work. As the BCB continues to deliver comprehensive programs on ever decreasing resources the contribution of volunteers such as Russell and Kellie are critical to our ability to achieve our objectives. The reason that our development program is first class is a testament to the dedicated Board members, staff and many volunteers that exhibit the “Spirit of Cricket” in their service to our community. Well done Kellie and Russell!!!”
Wednesday, February 11, 2015
Burgess Speaks on CPL Chances

As we reported last week Christian Burgess will have the opportunity to play in the Caribbean premier Cricket League if all goes well during training. Today we give you the chance to hear from Burgess.

American, Steven Taylor along with Bermudian, Burgess, are joined by four Canadian cricketers, Nitish Kumar, Nikhil Dutta, Satsimranjit Dhindsa and Farhan Malik who will all be keen to make an impression in the Caribbean later this year.

The ICC Americas player will be allocated to one of the six CPL franchises, along with four West Indies Under-19 cricketers for each franchise, for a pre-tournament training camp. One rookie contract per franchise will then be offered from amongst these five possible candidates.

Last 75 Headlines

IslandStats.com - Bermuda's Online Sports Source
© Copyright IslandStats.com