Home Video Gallery Contact Us Advertise Here
IslandStats.com RSS Feed

Athletics Home
Current Scores
Historical Scores
History of
Bermuda Day
Marathon Winners
Results / Entrants
Photo Gallery
Related Links
Contact Us
IslandStats.com RSS Feed


Monday, June 07, 2021
Swan's Running Club Announce Legends Race Series Champions

Shannon Lawrence & Gayle Lindsay
Swan’s Running Club started it's fourth annual Legends Race Series in February 2020. Little did we know that the next month we would go into lockdown due to the Covid-19 pandemic.

From there the series went through a yearlong roller coaster ride as we tried to finish up the last 3 races of the series. After many stops and starts, it was decided to complete the series virtually. We completed the series by virtually crowning our fourth Legends champion on Saturday. There were 76 participants in this year’s series, with 34 completing the series virtually.

Shannon Lawrence won the overall Male Legends Trophy, with Gayle Lindsay retaining her Legends Overall Female title. They won by amassing the most points in the best 3 out of 4 series. There were also age group winners who were awarded trophies for amassing the most points in their respective age group.

The series, sponsored by Moongate Insurance Group, Grotto Bay Resort, Sol Petroleum, Travel Edge and Miles Market, involved 4 races, the Ed Sherlock 8K, the Race Swan 8K, the Ludwig Cann 10K, and the “Sir” Stanley Burgess 5K. The best 3 finishes were used to calculate the winner. The last and fastest race carried double points, so the challenge for the titles came down to the last race.

The Veteran's 60+ winners were Tommy Sinclair, and Mayberline Black, while the Seniors 50+ winners were Scott Neil, and Lecole Richardson.

Chris Parry and Renee Gilchrist were the Masters 40+ Male and Female Champions, while the Open 20 to 39 titles went to Tom Neill and Kiki Oyemhen.
Last 75 Headlines

IslandStats.com - Bermuda's Online Sports Source
© Copyright IslandStats.com