Home Video Gallery Contact Us Advertise Here
IslandStats.com RSS Feed
Other Sports

Other Sports Home
Current Scores
Historical Scores
Photo Gallery
Related Links
Contact Us
IslandStats.com RSS Feed


Other Sports
Monday, September 18, 2023
Babb & Clarke inducted into Kennesaw State Hall of Fame

The Kennesaw State Department of Athletics inducted NCAA Division II National Champion 2003 KSU Women's Soccer Team which included Stacy Babb, and Catherine Clarke into the Hall of Fame Class of 2023.

Rob King was the first head coach in KSU women's soccer history and led the Owls to the 2003 Division II national championship with a 25-1 record. He posted a record of 168-80-21 in his KSU career from 2002-2015. His Owls won a pair of PBC regular season and tournament championships, and Southeast Regional titles in 2002 and 2003. He was the Southeast Region Coach of the Year both seasons and earned the 2003 National Coach of the Year. King led the Owls during KSU's Division 1 transition. In 2005, their first Division 1 season, KSU finished second in the ASUN Conference regular season with an 8-2 record and 13-4-1 record overall. The Owls won the ASUN Tournament and went to the NCAA Tournament in 2007 and 2009, while winning ASUN regular season titles in 2006, 2007, and 2009.

It would be hard to find a program that had a more impressive first two seasons than the Owls did under King. In its inaugural season, KSU posted an 18-0-1 mark, with the lone tie coming in the first round of the Division II Tournament where KSU played North Florida to a 1-1 draw, but saw the Ospreys advance after winning the PK shootout 5-4. It would be a season of redemption in 2003, with KSU posting a stellar 25-1 mark, for a 43-1-1 record over its two years.

There was no doubt from the start the Owls would be a dominate team, claiming their first eight games by a 43-3 margin. After its lone loss of the season, 2-1 to Christian Brothers, KSU would not falter again, ending the season on a 17-game win streak. That included an amazing nine-game shutout streak, as the Owls did not allow a goal over the final five weeks of the season.

After claiming the Peach Belt Conference regular season title with a 7-0 mark, the Owls cruised through the PBC tournament. On its home field, KSU claimed shutout wins over USC Aiken (8-0), Francis Marion (4-0) and USC Spartanburg (3-0) for its second-straight conference tournament title. The Owls then hosted three straight games in the NCAA Tournament, taking down Presbyterian, Tusculum, and Barry to reach the Final Four in Virginia Beach, Va.

After holding on for a 1-0 win over 2002 national runner-up Nebraska-Omaha in the national semifinals, the Owls met seventh-seed Franklin Pierce in the title game. Freshman forward Laura Tucker scored both goals in the game to claim Tournament MVP honors, while the Owls became the first team in NCAA D2 Tournament history to not allow a single goal. King would finish the year being named National Coach of the Year, while Jessie Fream earned third-team All-American honors.
Last 75 Headlines

IslandStats.com - Bermuda's Online Sports Source
© Copyright IslandStats.com