Home Video Gallery Contact Us Advertise Here
IslandStats.com RSS Feed

Cycling Home
Current Scores
Historical Scores
Photo Gallery
Related Links
Contact Us
IslandStats.com RSS Feed


Monday, September 17, 2018
Horsfield Finishes 2nd in Gravel Road Race

Robin Horsfield, Bermuda's National Mountain Bike Champion, enjoyed an early off season ride by participating in Centurion Canada's True Grit Gravel Road Race in Collingwood, Ontario.

Horsfield initiated the breakaway up a 3km climb minutes into the event. He was joined by PJ Kings and Luca Senk and the three road away from the main field.

Horsfield narrowly missed the win in a sprint finish after he and Kings dropped Senk with a kilometer to go.

Horsfield was clocked across the line in a time of 1:57:44.5, with Kings clocking 1:57:47.5, Senk was third in 1:57:50.9.
Sunday, September 16, 2018
BBA National Criterium Championships 2018

Junior Male Division Racers
The Bermuda Bicycle Association’s National Criterium Championships took place in the City of Hamilton.

With many of the young guns being overseas the door of opportunity was opened for the older guys in the Male Open Category.

Darren Glasford claimed the Male Championship title after a long escape with Steve Smith who crashed with just a handful of laps to go following a front tire flat.

Glasford would ride to victory solo clocking 57:15.5, while Adam Kirk who had been chasing on his own for third place suddenly was catapulted into second following Smith’s demise, he crossed the line in57:51.4. The peloton then was left to contest for the final podium spot with Mark Hatherley edging Simon Hanrahan for third clocking 57:53.8.

In the Female Open race Ashley Cooper finished ahead of the group following some good team tactics with Cora-Lee Starzomski. Jamie-Lee Wright was able to distance herself from Starzomski but couldn’t close the gap to Cooper, giving first and third to the VT Construction - Madison team and Bicycle Works taking second.

Cooper was clocked at 40:24.2, while Wright was clocked at 40:36.3 and Starzomski crossed the line in a time of 40:56.1.

Male Championships

57:15.530 Darren Glasford - Winners Edge

57:51.421 Adam Kirk - Winners Edge
57:53.892 Mark Hatherley - Winners Edge
57:54.130 Simon Hanrahan - Winners Edge
57:54.426 Clifford Roberts - Bicycle Works
57:54.457 Wouter Aarts - Tokio
57:56.077 Stephen Paynter - Independent
57:56.123 Peter Dunne - Independent
57:56.289 Kent Richardson - Winners Edge
57:59.402 Andrew Simons - Independent
58:00.542 Mark Lombardi - Tokio
58:00.557 Deshi Smith - V.T Construction - Madison
58:01.668 Anthony Bartley - Winners Edge
58:03.682 Mcquinn Burch - Bicycle Works
58:03.682 Steven Smith - V.T Construction - Madison
57:26.215 Christopher Roque - Winners Edge 3 Laps Down
57:27.580 Steven Wells - Bicycle Works 3 Laps Down

Female Championships

40:24.204 Ashley Cooper - V.T Construction – Madison

40:36.383 Jamie-Lee Wright - Bicycle Works
40:56.196 CoraLee Starzomski - V.T Construction - Madison
41:01.532 Louise Wells - Winners Edge

Junior Male

35:39.507 Nicholas Narraway - Winners Edge

35:39.948 Alexander Miller - Winners Edge
35:58.591 Nazarai Fox - BCA
37:05.538 Thomas Quarterly - BCA
38:56.305 Keiran Malott – Independent

Junior Female

25:52.1 Zoe Hasselkuss – Tokio

25:52.1 Liana Medeiros - Winners Edge
27:11.7 Megan Hands - Winners Edge

Junior A

18:51.431 Jasmin Hasselkuss – Tokio

18:52.076 Rory Fleming - BCA
20:38.040 Ava Gabai-Maiato - Independent

Junior B

15:05.698 Charlotte Millington - V.T Construction – Madison

15:40.315 Harris Fleming - BCA
16:12.314 Masaki Kitade - Independent
16:20.995 Thomas Wells - Independent
17:37.646 Benjamin Wells - Independent
18:03.022 Kelise Wade - BCA
18:05.091 Makao Butterfield - BCA

Saturday, September 15, 2018
Arnold & Hopkins Continue at the Collegiate Championships

Gabriella Arnold and Kaden Hopkins continued competing at the USA Cycling Collegiate Track National Championships.

Arnold is representing Marian University, while Hopkins is representing Fort Lewis College.

Arnold missed out on a Final spot when she finished 2nd in Heat 2 of the Women Sprint 1/8 Repechage - 2 Laps.

Arnold would then finish 10th overall when she finished second in the Women Sprint Final 9-12 place race.

Kaden Hopkins finished 12th competing in the Men’s Pursuit Final - 4km - 12 Laps with a time of 4:43.764.

Clocking a time of 4:21.273 saw Arnold finish the Women Pursuit Final - 3km - 9 Laps in 30th place.
Thursday, September 13, 2018
Arnold & Hopkins Compete in Collegiate Championships

Not just Gabriella Arnold competed at the USA Cycling Collegiate Track National Championships, Kaden Hopkins was also involved.

Arnold representing Marian University finished 10th competing in the Women Sprint Qualification - 200m - 2.5 Laps clocking 12.863.

Hopkins representing Fort Lewis College finished 21st during the Men Sprint Qualification - 200m - 2.5 Laps clocking 11.424.

During the Women Sprint 1/16 Final - 2 Laps Arnold would go down in Heat 9 to Stephanie Nave from Milligan College, Nave would clock 12.692, with Arnold clocking 12.749.

Arnold would then win Heat 1 of the Women Sprint 1/16 Repechage - 2 Laps, she would clock 13.080, with Tristen Musselman from Fort Lewis College second in 13.168 and Natalia Franco from Colorado Mesa University finished with a time of 13.192.
Wednesday, September 12, 2018
Arnold to Compete in Track National Championships

Head Cycling Coach Dean Peterson has announced the roster of student-athletes that will represent Marian University at this week's USA Cycling Collegiate Track National Championships which includes Gabriella Arnold.

Track Nationals is the first of the Collegiate Cycling season's five National Championship competitions and comes within a month of the start of the fall semester and the team's return to campus.

The Marian squad has been preparing for Nationals at the Major Taylor Velodrome for the last four weeks. They are looking to defend last year's win and earn the program's twenty-first team track championship.
Last 75 Headlines

IslandStats.com - Bermuda's Online Sports Source
© Copyright IslandStats.com