Home Video Gallery Contact Us Advertise Here
IslandStats.com RSS Feed

Sailing Home
Current Scores
Historical Scores
Photo Gallery
Related Links
Contact Us
IslandStats.com RSS Feed


Sunday, July 16, 2023
Challenger II Win Inaugural Leatrice Oatley Trophy Race

In Mangrove Bay, hosted by the St. George’s Dinghy & Sports Club, the Bermuda Fitted Dinghy Association held the inaugural race for the newly-created Leatrice Oatley Trophy.

Challenger II, representing Sandys Boat Club won the historic event, where all four active dinghies were sailed by all-women crews.

The Leatrice Oatley Trophy is to be presented each year to the dinghy that demonstrates the best performance by women sailors in Bermuda Fitted Dinghy racing.

It was donated by the Frith family to promote participation and celebrate the accomplishments of women in Bermuda Fitted Dinghy racing.

The trophy is dedicated to Leatrice Oatley, in honor of her steadfast support of Bermuda Fitted Dinghy racing and the Victory Syndicate in particular, as well as her consistent promotion of women’s sailing in Bermuda.

There is no greater advocate for women’s Bermuda Fitted Dinghy racing, and this trophy will serve to recognize her longstanding contributions to the sport.

Leatrice Oatley Trophy Historic First Race

1st - Challenger II, Sandys Boat Club

Sarah Davis (helm)
Pat Young
Alisa Bernardo
Macey Aicardi

2nd - Elizabeth II, Royal Hamilton Amateur Dinghy Club
Katrina Williams (helm)
Meghan Sherwin
Gabrielle Brackstone
Samantha Dill
Rebecca May
Fae Sapsford

3rd - Contest III, Royal Bermuda Yacht Club
Rachael Betschart (helm)
Julia Lines
Nicole Stovell
Laura Hupman
Gen Lau
Skye Oliveira

4th - Victory IV, St. George’s Dinghy & Sports Club
Paula Lewin (helm)
Sarah Frith
Leatrice Oatley
Ruth Mello-Cann
Nijanae Pemberton
Charlotte Rudd
Joanna Santiago
Sophia Dias

Dinghy Racing July 16th 2023

Last 75 Headlines

IslandStats.com - Bermuda's Online Sports Source
© Copyright IslandStats.com