Home Video Gallery Contact Us Advertise Here
IslandStats.com RSS Feed

Sailing Home
Current Scores
Historical Scores
Photo Gallery
Related Links
Contact Us
IslandStats.com RSS Feed


Monday, June 19, 2023
Swikart's Win Edward Cross Long Distance Race

Jack & Kate Swikart
Jack and his crew Kate Swikart put their names on the Edward Cross Long Distance Race trophy following their victory in the St. George’s Harbor.

A total of 24 boats went to the startline, however, the race started with Stephen Dickinson, defending champion Benn Smith, and Maxwell Curtis all ruled Over the Start Line before the horn off the West End Sailboat Club for going over the line early in the Great Sound.

Swikart was constantly in the mix in the race as they made their way out of the Great Sound and down the North Shore, Dale Brangman and his crew Tajahri Rogers got a great jump and had boat speed along with Curtis and his crew Stefan Furbert, however, a cluster of boats offshore including Smith and his crew Damian Payne, Dickinson and his crew Wesley Tucker, Rudy Bailey and his crew Corey Bean, as well as Swikart made good ground as the race went on.

Eventually, Dickinson took control of the race, but just past the Oil Dock, Swikart made a move behind Dickinson, and rolled above him and his boat speed was just too much for Dickinson as Swikart maintained control of the race until they entered the Town Cut Channel.

Swikart stalled for a split second, with Dickinson hunting him down, but Dickinson himself ran into trouble allowing several boats to pass him, Swikart was able to maneuver through the channel and comfortably made it to the finish line with a time of 1:55:05.

Bailey would cross the line second overall clocking 1:59:14, and another former winner of the race Mark Hess and his crew Ann Filbert finished third stopping the clock in a time of 2:01:00.

Edward Cross Long Distance Race Results

1:55:05 Jack Swikart & Kate Swikart

1:59:14 Rudy Bailey & Corey Bean
2:01:00 Mark Hess & Anne Filbert
2:03:52 Joe Lauver & Ian Lauver
2:04:04 Gladwin Lambert & Stefan Maybury
2:05:30 Jon Burnham & Tori Burnham
2:05:52 Thomas Layton & George Wiedermann
2:06:33 Rockal Evans & Ahzai Smith
2:07:48 Alan Frith & Sarah Frith
2:08:38 Dale Brangman & Tajahri Rogers
2:08:43 Robert Gruskos & Jessica Gruskos
2:09:31 Scott Fox & Patricia Young
2:09:39 Kelsey Durham & Jordan Vieira
2:13:36 Bradley Meade & Barbara Rotttier
2:14:34 Bruce Mundle & Cindy Huffaker
2:14:35 Lorenzo Lambert & Gregory Wade
2:14:40 Richard Harmon & Judy Harmon
2:22:08 Quinton Simons & Gregory Proctor
2:29:55 Zaniko Hendrickson & Zane Hendrickson
2:48:44 Antony Smith & Shawn Bremar
2:49:42 Antoine Wingood & Simon Van De Weg
DQ Stephen Dickinson & Wesley Tucker
DQ Benn Smith & Damian Payne
DQ Maxwell Curtis & Stefan Furbert

Edward Cross Long Distance Race 2023

Last 75 Headlines

IslandStats.com - Bermuda's Online Sports Source
© Copyright IslandStats.com