Home Video Gallery Contact Us Advertise Here
IslandStats.com RSS Feed

Soccer Home
Current Scores
Historical Scores
Photo Gallery
Related Links
Contact Us
IslandStats.com RSS Feed


Friday, January 27, 2023
CONMEBOL & CONCACAF Sign Collaboration Agreement

CONMEBOL and CONCACAF have announced the signing of a strategic collaboration agreement to strengthen and develop football in both regions. The agreement includes men's and women's national team competitions and a new men's club tournament.

The CONMEBOL Copa America 2024 will be played in the United States, in the summer of 2024, and will include 10 CONMEBOL teams and the six best CONMEBOL and CONCACAF teams, as guests. This traditional CONMEBOL tournament will be co-organized by both confederations.

The six CONMEBOL and CONCACAF national teams will have the opportunity to qualify for this competition through the 2023/24 CONMEBOL and CONCACAF Nations League.

For CONMEBOL, this agreement will support its men's national teams in their preparation for the upcoming World Cup through an expanded Copa America featuring six elite CONMEBOL and CONCACAF teams, organized in the region that will host the 2026 FIFA World Cup.

Similarly, this agreement will allow CONMEBOL and CONCACAF to provide more high-quality competition for its men's national teams over the next two years, including the conclusion of the 2022/23 CONMEBOL and CONCACAF Nations League, the 2023 CONMEBOL and CONCACAF Gold Cup and the 2023/24 CONMEBOL and CONCACAF Nations League.

For women's national teams, CONMEBOL and CONCACAF has invited the top four CONMEBOL national teams to participate in the 2024 CONMEBOL and CONCACAF W Gold Cup. The inaugural edition of this 12-team tournament, which is a key part of CONMEBOL and CONCACAF’s new women's national team ecosystem, will be played in the United States.

The two CONMEBOL and CONCACAF teams that will participate in the 2024 Summer Olympics (United States and Jamaica or Canada) will qualify directly for the 2024 CONMEBOL and CONCACAF W Gold Cup. The remaining six CONMEBOL and CONCACAF teams will be determined through the 2023 Road to CONMEBOL and CONCACAF W Gold Cup.

The four guest CONMEBOL teams that will participate have been determined based on the results of the 2022 Women’s Copa America: Brazil (champion) Colombia (runner-up), Argentina (third place) and Paraguay (fourth place).

CONMEBOL and CONMEBOL and CONCACAF will also organize a centralized "final four" style club competition featuring the best clubs from the respective confederations. The four participating teams (two from each confederation) will qualify through existing CONMEBOL and CONMEBOL and CONCACAF f club competitions and the two confederations are working towards the first edition of this tournament being played in 2024.

Regarding the important agreement, Alejandro Domínguez, president of CONMEBOL, stated, “CONMEBOL and CONMEBOL and CONCACAF are united by historical and affective ties. But above all, we are united by the passion, characteristic of all the Americas, for football and sports. We are determined to renew and expand our joint initiatives and projects. We want this passion to translate into more and better competitions and for football and its values to grow and strengthen throughout the hemisphere. Without a doubt, both confederations believe in big, and we will work with this orientation.”

Victor Montagliani, president of CONMEBOL and CONCACAF, said, “This is a partnership to support the ongoing growth of men’s and women’s football in Concacaf and CONMEBOL, and will truly be of mutual benefit to both Confederations. Working hand in hand with CONMEBOL, we will deliver elite competitions that will provide more opportunities for our federations, and that we know passionate fans want to see. We look forward to working together to ensure that football in both regions continues to thrive.”
Last 75 Headlines

IslandStats.com - Bermuda's Online Sports Source
© Copyright IslandStats.com