Home Video Gallery Contact Us Advertise Here
IslandStats.com RSS Feed
Loading
Soccer

Home
Soccer Home
Schedules
Current Scores
Historical Scores
Standings
Photo Gallery
Related Links
Contact Us
Advertise
 
IslandStats.com RSS Feed

 

Soccer
Saturday, June 02, 2018
Wells & Burnley's Pre Season Announced
Nahki Wells and his Burnley teammates will launch their pre-season preparations with a trip to Ireland.

Sean Dyche’s side started out with a week-long training base near Dublin last summer before Burnley’s most successful top-flight season since 1974.

And this July they will base themselves near Cork for a five-day training camp before playing a friendly against Airtricity Premier Division champions Cork City at their Turner’s Cross ground on Friday July 13th.

Dyche previously took his side to Cork, near the south-west tip of Ireland and the home city of Clarets defender Kevin Long, ahead of Burnley's 2013/14 Championship promotion-winning season.

Burnley’s pre-season plans, which take into account the start of the club’s Europa League campaign at the end of July, also include a trip to neighbors Preston North End for a second successive season and two games at Turf Moor against European opposition.

Dyche’s side will face Montpellier, who last season finished 10th in the French First Division, and is then expected to meet opposition from the Spanish top flight a week before the Premier League campaign kicks off on August 11th.

The schedule also includes a couple of training ground games against League One opposition, while the manager will split his squad to play two games on the same evening on Friday July 20th.

Burnley will send a side to Macclesfield Town, who have just clinched promotion back to the Football League, and to National League North side Curzon Ashton, where Burnley’s under-23s will play again next season.

Pre-Season Schedule

Friday, 13 July; Cork City (away), kick-off 7pm.

Friday, 20 July; Macclesfield Town (away) and Curzon Ashton (away), both kick-off 7.45pm.

Monday, 23 July; Preston North End (away), kick-off 7.45pm.

Thursday, 26 July; Europa League 2nd qualifying round, first leg.

Sunday, 29 July; Montpellier (home), kick-off 1.30pm.

Thursday, 2August; Europa League 2nd qualifying round, second leg.

Sunday, 5 August; Overseas opposition TBC (home) kick-off 1.30pm.

Thursday, 9 August; Europa League 3rd qualifying round, first leg (subject to winning in 2nd round).

Saturday, 11 August: Start of Premier League season.

Thursday, 16 August; Europa League 3rd qualifying round, second leg (subject to winning in 2nd round).
Last 75 Headlines







IslandStats.com - Bermuda's Online Sports Source
 
© Copyright IslandStats.com
 



Wednesday, May 23, 2018 - 9:00:00 PM
Sunday, April 22, 2018 - 3:00:00 PM
Sunday, April 22, 2018 - 11:00:00 PM
Friday, April 20, 2018 - 8:30:00 PM
Thursday, April 19, 2018 - 8:00:00 PM
Saturday, April 14, 2018 - 8:00:00 PM
Sunday, April 08, 2018 - 2:00:00 PM
Sunday, April 01, 2018 - 3:00:00 PM
Sunday, April 01, 2018 - 12:30:00 PM
Sunday, April 01, 2018 - 3:00:00 PM
Sunday, April 01, 2018 - 3:00:00 PM
Sunday, April 01, 2018 - 3:00:00 PM
Sunday, April 01, 2018 - 12:30:00 PM
Sunday, April 01, 2018 - 12:30:00 PM
Sunday, April 01, 2018 - 12:30:00 PM
Sunday, March 25, 2018 - 5:00:00 PM